Fried Leftover Rice Cakes

I can’t remember where I found this recipe; but I can promise you it absolutely fabulous. I have made some changes to suit me and as you can see it doesn’t take long to prepare and cook. If served with vegetables it’s a meal and a half. The cakes are great for ovo-vegetarians and they are total gluten free.

Prep time max 5 minutes resting time 15 minutes
cooking time 3-4 minutes per side
  • 150-200g leftover cooked rice
  • 1 egg
  • 1 bunch spring onions; chopped finely
  • 1 large cooked beetroot; chopped finely
  • Dried herbs: onion salt, garlic salt, pepper
  • Fresh herbs: parsley, basil, thyme (all finely chopped)
  • Instead of spring onions and beetroot, try: peeled and finely chopped green and red peppers.
  1. Mix everything together; ensuring the egg is thoroughly mixed in.
  2. Place the mixture on a sheet of cling film and roll to a sausage approx. 5-8cm diameter. Place in freezer for 10-15 minutes to make it easy to cut and use; do not freeze to a solid sausage. Remove from freezer and keep in fridge until required or cook straight away.
  3. When ready; cut the “sausage” into 1finger wide slices through the cling film.
  4. Gently remove the cling film. Heat a little butter and oil in a frying pan and fry the slices, on medium to high heat, for 3-4 minutes on each side.
image image

The rice cakes are delicious cold, warm and/or as a side dish to Indian and Chinese cooking.

4 thoughts on “Fried Leftover Rice Cakes

  1. Looks pretty damn yummy to me my friend, wish I could pop in to sample some with you one of these evenings lol

      • Kind of a long trip to get from New Hampshire USA back to MK for MK!! but I guarantee if I get back over there, it’s a given I will come visit you 🙂 Have you ever heard anything from Eileen and Liz or did they just vanish??

      • well that would be pretty difficult, I live in America now, left Leighton Buzzard 12 years ago lol … Kind of a long trip to get from New Hampshire USA back to MK !! but I guarantee if I get back over there, it’s a given I will come visit you 🙂 Have you ever heard anything from Eileen and Liz or did they just vanish??

Leave a Reply

